… team

A great team needs great minds! Here are some details about our project team…

…in Bocholt

Manfred Meyer

Manfred Meyer

Location: Bocholt
eMail: meyer [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 910

MSc & Ph in Computer Science (University of Kaiserslautern), after research (German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence / DFKI in Kaiserslautern) and practice (capgemini sd&m) and more than 5 years at UAS Schmalkalden (Thuringia) I joined the University of Applied Sciences Gelsenkirchen in 2002.

Serving as a guest professor, I like to explore (university) life and people in foreign countries like New Zealand (Univ. of Auckland), Mexico City (ITESM / Tec de Monterrey), Namibia (Polytechnic, Windhoek) and Canada (Univ. of Calgary).

Research Areas:

  • Constraint processing and optimisation (isn’t life a constraint problem by itself?)
  • New business models on the Internet and online marketing (i.e. AdMotional)


In teaching, I try to convey the basics of software development with Java in the first year as good and as interesting as possible. Programming contests (Prime Game) and team-based software development are part of this, as are cosy Christmas lectures or barbecues to finalise projects…

The idea for AdMotional came up during an earlier collaboration between the University and The AdInsider GmbH as part of WCIM (an initiative co-founded by me for the establishment of funded IT projects at the Bocholt campus).

As project manager I connect the dots, based on the motto “project management is like tying to keep 11 corks under water with 10 fingers”…


Gerhard Juen

Gerhard Juen

Location: Bocholt
eMail: juen [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 830

Areas of Expertise:

  • Distributed ystems
  • Mobile Computing
  • Control Systems
  • Digital Signal Processing

Current Research Interests:

  • Mobile Computing
  • 3D City Models


Michael Engelmann

Michael Engelmann

Location: Bocholt
eMail: engelmann [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 950

Michael supports Prof. Dr. Manfred Meyer in the project management. Besides his work on “AdMotional” he is a research assistant at the university. There he supervised the practicals “Fundamentals of Computer Science 1 and 2” as well as “Technical Computer Science”.


Christian Schlüter

Christian Schlüter

Location: Bocholt
eMail: schlueter [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 450

Christian has finished his studies in the summer of 2009 with the final diploma in Business Informatics (FH) and has since been active in the project. He deals with the project organisation, takes care of the technical architecture of the system and develops the rule mechanism together with his colleagues. In earlier projects (private and university), he gained extensive knowledge in software development and Internet-based and Internet-related applications.


Dennis Böing

Dennis Böing

Location: Bocholt
eMail: boeing [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 459

Dennis finished his studies at the University of Applied Sciences Gelsenkirchen in Bocholt in the summer of 2009 as a Diplom-Ingenieur (FH) in information technology. Within the AdMotional team he deals with time geolocation and position detection as a fulltime research assistant.




Markus Balsam

Markus Balsam

Location: Bocholt
eMail: balsam [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 459

Mark works as a part-time research assistant – especially on the rule mechanism. He is in parallel enrolled in the Distributed Systems master program at the university in Bocholt, in which he successfully completed the Diploma in Information and Communication technology in 2009.


Stefan Dillage

Stefan Dillage

Location: Bocholt
eMail: dillage [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 450

Stefan is involved in the development of the rule mechanism. Furthermore, he takes care of the investigation and selection of targeting criteria.

Stefan has finished his studies in August 2009 as a Dipl. Wirtschfaftsinformatiker and is now a 75% research assistant at the University of Applied Sciences Gelsenkirchen in the AdMotional project. He also works for another company as a software developer.



Arlo O'Keeffe

Arlo O’Keeffe

Location: Bocholt
eMail: oKeeffe [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 450

Arlo is a German-Irishman who studied computer science at the FH Bocholt and now devotes his time to the Master in Distributed Systems. In the project he is working on the rule optimizer and supports the team with his knowledge of usability and marketing.



Andre Tenbuss

Andre Tenbuß

Location: Bocholt
eMail: tenbuss [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 459

Andre is in his 3rd semester studying Business Computing at the University of Applied Sciences Gelsenkirchen in Bocholt. His main task is currently to support Christian Schlüter with the selection and establishment of an appropriate Groupware solution for AdMotional. Besides working in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, he is also still active as a student assistant for IT support in the Department of Business.


Okko Buss

Okko Buss

Location: Bocholt
eMail: buss [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 459

Okko Buss studied Business Computing at the University of Applied Sciences Gelsenkirchen in Bocholt. He also works part-time for AdMotional as a student assistant and assists the team in the selection of targeting criteria and in the development of the rule mechanism.


Pascal Manaras

Pascal Manaras

Location: Bocholt
eMail: manaras [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 459

Pascal is a 5th semester student of Business Computing. Besides studying, he works as a student assistant in the AdMotional project and supports the team, among other things, in the programming of the rule mechanism.


Daniel Dettmann

Daniel Dettmann

Location: Bocholt
eMail: dettmann [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 459

Daniel is a 4th semester student of Business Computing at the University of Applied Sciences Gelsenkirchen in Bocholt. In addition to his studies, he is as a research assistant in the AdMotional project and supports the team with the administration web interface and other necessary work, such as generators.


Mario Könning

Mario Könning

Location: Bocholt
eMail: koenning [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 459

Mario is Business Computing student at the University of Gelsenkirchen, Bocholt Campus, and is in the third Semester. In the AdMotional project he supports general administrative tasks.


Gerrit Walther

Gerrit Walther

Location: Bocholt
eMail: walther [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 459

I’m from Essen and studying computer science in Bocholt since 2009. I am working for AdMotional since November 2010. As a student assistant at AdMotional I try to give my best at the tasks that I get.


Hany Omar

Hany Omar

Location: Bocholt
eMail: omar [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 459

Hany Omar studies Business Computing at the University of Applied Sciences in Bocholt. Besides that he works as student assistant for AdMotional, supporting the team in developing the Online Demo of the AdMotional system.


Sebastian Thiems

Sebastian Thiems

Location: Bocholt
eMail: thiems [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 459

Sebastian Thiems studies Applied Information Technology at the University of Applied Sciences in Bocholt since 2008. He does his practice phase in the AdMotional Project, developing the AdStudio.


Thomas Könning

Thomas Könning

Location: Bocholt
eMail: tkoenning [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 459

My name is Thomas Könning, I study Business Computing in my 6th semester at the University of Applied Sciences in Bocholt. I am working on XSLT transformation and server administration as student assistant for AdMotional.


…in Gelsenkirchen

Prof. Ballstaedt

Steffen-Peter Ballstaedt

Location: Gelsenkirchen
eMail: ballstaedt [at] admotional.org
Phone: 0209 9596 852

Steffen has studied psychology and has been dealing for decades with the processing of linguistic and visual messages. He earns his living as Professor of Applied Communication Science in the “Journalism and Public Relations” programme. In the project he conducts empirical research on the reception of color and typography together with his colleague Martin Liebig.


Martin Liebig

Martin Liebig

Location: Gelsenkirchen
eMail: liebig [at] admotional.org
Phone: 0209 9596 643

Martin Liebig is the “hybrid-lecturer” at the Institute of Journalism and Public Relations. A trained journalist, he supervises the area of online journalism, and as a longtime freelance designer, programmer and concept developer also the media design courses at the Institute – ranging from image editing to animation. His passion is typography.


Sascha Beckmann

Sascha Beckmann

Location: Gelsenkirchen
eMail: beckmann [at] admotional.org

Sascha completed his studies in Journalism/Technology-Communicationsin 2006 at the University of Applied Sciences Gelsenkirchen, and has returned to the university for the AdMotional project. He now mostly studies the optical likes and dislikes of users in online advertising. When he is not just interviewing people or reading books for the project he works as a technical editor and freelance writer.

Constraint processing and optimisation (isn’t life a constraint

problem by itself?)

… team

Ein gutes Team braucht kluge Köpfe! Hier finden Sie einige Details zu unseren Mitarbeitern…

…in Bocholt

Manfred Meyer

Manfred Meyer

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: meyer [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 910

Promovierter Informatiker (Uni Kaiserslautern), nach Stationen in der Forschung (Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz/DFKI in Kaiserlautern) und Praxis (sd&m AG) über die FH Schmalkalden (Thüringen) im Herbst 2002 an die FH Gelsenkirchen gekommen.

Als Gastprofessor erkunde ich gerne das Uni-Leben sowie Land und Leute in fernen Ländern wie Neuseeland (Univ. of Auckland), Mexiko-Stadt (ITESM/Tec de Monterrey), Namibia (Polytechnic, Windhoek) und Kanada (Univ. of Calgary).


Forschungsschwerpunkte:

  • Constraint-Verarbeitung und Optimierung (aber ist nicht das ganze Leben ein Constraint-Problem?)
  • Neue Geschäftsmodelle im Internet und natürlich Online-Marketing (also AdMotional & Co)

In der Lehre versuche ich, im ersten Studienjahr die Grundlagen der Software-Entwicklung mit Java möglichst gut und interessant zu vermitteln, wobei Programmierwettbewerbe (PrimeGame) und die Software-Entwicklung im Team ebenso dazugehören wie eine gemütliche Weihnachtsvorlesung oder der zünftige Projektabschluss am Grill…

Die Idee zum Projekt AdMotional entstand schon während einer früheren Zusammenarbeit zwischen der FH und der The AdInsider GmbH im Rahmen von WCIM, einer von mir mitgegründeten Initiative zur Etablierung von IT-Drittmittelprojekten am Standort Bocholt.

Als Projektleiter halte ich die Fäden zusammen, immer nach dem Motto “Projektleitung ist wie 11 Korken mit 10 Fingern gleichzeitig unter Wasser halten”…


Gerhard Juen

Gerhard Juen

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: juen [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 830

Lehrgebiete:

  • Verteilte Systeme
  • Mobile Computing
  • Regelungstechnik
  • Digitale Signalverarbeitung

Aktuelle Forschungsinteressen:

  • Mobile Computing
  • 3D-Stadtmodelle


Michael Engelmann

Michael Engelmann

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: engelmann [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 950

Michael unterstützt Prof. Dr. Manfred Meyer im Bereich Projektmanagement. Neben seiner Arbeit im Projekt “AdMotional” ist er Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der FH. Dort betreut er die Praktika “Grundlagen der Informatik 1 und 2″ und die “Technische Informatik”.


Christian Schlüter

Christian Schlüter

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: schlueter [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 450

Christian hat sein Studium im Sommer mit dem Abschluß Diplom-Wirtschaftsinformatiker (FH) beendet und ist seitdem im Projekt tätig. Er beschäftigt sich mit der Projektorganisation, kümmert sich um die technische Architektur des Systems und entwickelt den Regelmechanismus mit seinen Kollegen. In früheren Projekten (privat und im Studium) sammelte er umfangreiche Kenntnisse in der Software-Entwicklung und bei internetbasierten oder internetnahen Anwendungen.


Dennis Böing

Dennis Böing

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: boeing [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 459

Dennis hat im Sommer 2009 sein Studium an der Fachhochschule in Bocholt als Diplom-Ingenieur (FH) in der Informationstechnik abgeschlossen. Im Team von AdMotional befasst er sich als vollzeitbeschäftigter wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter mit dem Bereich der Geolokalisierung und Positionserfassung.


Markus Balsam

Markus Balsam

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: balsam [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 459

Markus arbeitet als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter mit halber Stelle vor allem am Regelmechanismus. Parallel dazu ist er im Masterstudiengang Verteilte Systeme am Fachhochschulstandort Bocholt eingeschrieben, an der er im Jahr 2009 erfolgreich den Diplom-Studiengang Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik abgeschlossen hat.


Stefan Dillage

Stefan Dillage

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: dillage [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 450

Stefan ist an der Entwicklungs des Regelmechanismus beteiligt. Des Weiteren kümmert er sich die Untersuchung und Auswahl von Targeting Kriterien.

Stefan hat sein Studium im August 2009 als Dipl. Wirtschfaftsinformatiker beendet und ist nun zu 75% an der FH Gelsenkirchen als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im AdMotional-Projekt und bei einer weiteren Firma als Softwareentwickler angestellt.


Arlo O'Keeffe

Arlo O’Keeffe

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: oKeeffe [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 450

Arlo ist ein Deutsch-Ire, der an der FH Bocholt Wirtschaftsinformatik studiert hat und seine Zeit nun dem Master Verteilte Systeme widmet. Im Projekt arbeitet er am Regeloptimierer und unterstützt das Team mit seinem Vorwissen aus der Usability und dem Marketing.


Andre Tenbuss

Andre Tenbuß

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: tenbuss [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 459

Andre studiert an der Fachhochschule in Bocholt Wirtschaftsinformatik im 3. Semester. Die Unterstützung von Christian Schlüter in Bezug auf die Auswahl und Einrichtung einer geeigneten Grouware-Lösung gehört momentan zu seinen Hauptaufgaben. Neben der Arbeit im Fachbereich Maschinenbau ist er außerdem noch als studentische Hilfskraft im Fachbereich Wirtschaft im IT-Support tätig.


Okko Buss

Okko Buss

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: buss [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 459

Okko Buss studiert Wirtschaftsinformatik an der FH in Bocholt. Nebenbei arbeitet er als studentische Hilfskraft im AdMotional Projekt und unterstützt das Team bei der Auswahl von Targetingkriterien und der Entwicklung des Regelmechanismus.


Pascal Manaras

Pascal Manaras

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: manaras [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 459

Pascal ist Student der Wirtschaftsinformatik im 5. Semester. Neben dem Studium arbeitet er als studentische Hilfskraft im Projekt AdMotional und unterstützt unter anderem das Team bei der Programmierung des Regelmechanismus’.


Daniel Dettmann

Daniel Dettmann

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: dettmann [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 459

Daniel studiert an der FH in Bocholt Wirtschaftsinformatik und ist derzeit im 4ten Semester. Neben seinem Studium ist er als studentische Hilfskraft im Projekt AdMotional tätig und unterstützt das Team im Bereich der Administrations-Weboberfläche und weiteren anfallenden Arbeiten, wie beispielsweise Generatoren.


Mario Könning

Mario Könning

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: koenning [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 459

Mario ist Wirtschaftsinformatikstudent an der Fachhochschule Gelsenkirchen Abteilung Bocholt und befindet sich im 3. Semester. Im AdMotional Projekt unterstützt er allgemeine Verwaltungsaufgaben.


Gerrit Walther
(c) C. Hofschläger / PIXELIO

Gerrit Walther

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: walther [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 459

Ich bin aus Essen und studiere in Bocholt Wirtschaftsinformatik seit 2009 und bei AdMotional seit November 2010. Als Hiwi bei AdMotional versuche ich mein bestes zu geben bei den Aufgaben, die ich bekomme.


Hany Omar

Hany Omar

Standort: Bocholt
eMail: omar [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 02871 2155 459

Hany Omar studiert Wirtschaftsinformatik an der FH in Bocholt. Nebenbei arbeitet er als studentische Hilfskraft im AdMotional Projekt und unterstützt das Team bei der Erstellung der Online Demo von AdMotional.


Sebastian Thiems

Sebastian Thiems

Location: Bocholt
eMail: thiems [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 459

Sebastian Thiems studiert seit 2008 Angewandte Informationstechnik an der FH in Bocholt. Zur Zeit macht er seine Praxisphase im AdMotional
Projekt und entwickelt dort das AdStudio.


Thomas Könning

Thomas Könning

Location: Bocholt
eMail: tkoenning [at] admotional.org
Phone: 02871 2155 459

Mein Name ist Thomas Könning und ich studiere im 6. Semester Wirtschaftsinformatik an der FH in Bocholt. Im AdMotional-Team arbeite ich als studentische Hilfskraft in den Bereichen XSLT-Transformationen und Server Administration.


…in Gelsenkirchen

Prof. Ballstaedt

Steffen-Peter Ballstaedt

Standort: Gelsenkirchen
eMail: ballstaedt [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 0209 9596 852

Steffen hat Psychologie studiert und beschäftigt sich seit Jahrzehnten mit der Verarbeitung sprachlicher und visueller Botschaften. Er verdient seinen Lebensunterhalt mit einer Professur für angewandte Kommunikationswissenschaft im Studiengang „Journalismus und Public Relations“. Im Projekt führt er mit seinem Kollegen Martin Liebig empirische Untersuchungen über die Rezeption von Farben und Typografie durch.


Martin Liebig

Martin Liebig

Standort: Gelsenkirchen
eMail: liebig [at] admotional.org
Telefon: 0209 9596 643

Martin Liebig ist der „Zwitter-Dozent“ am Institut für Journalismus und Public Relations: als gelernter Journalist betreut er das Lehrgebiet Online-Journalismus, als langjähriger freiberuflicher Gestalter, Programmierer und Konzeptioner aber auch die mediengestalterischen Fächer am Institut – von Bildbearbeitung bis Animation. Seine Leidenschaft ist die Typografie.


Sascha Beckmann

Sascha Beckmann

Standort: Gelsenkirchen
eMail: beckmann [at] admotional.org

Sascha hat 2006 sein Studium Journalismus/Technik-Kommunikation an der FH Gelsenkirchen abgeschlossen und ist für das Projekt wieder an die Hochschule zurückgekehrt. Jetzt studiert er dort in erster Linie die optischen Vorlieben und Abneigungen der User in Sachen Online-Werbung. Wenn er für das Projekt gerade mal keine Leute befragt oder Bücher wälzt, arbeitet er als technischer Redakteur und freier Autor.